The Battle with Silence

I am largely on my own at home in the day now, so I tune in to the radio station to cope with the static silence.

Or I would find myself muttering to myself like a granny preoccupied in her own world. Which is not at all a good habit to set in at my age.

I used to meet people, and talk (aka negotiate/bullshit/lie) for a living. So… there were rarely moments of silence at where I used to work.

There is quite a bit to get used to since I started working at home alone.

Initially, I tried leaving the television on, and tuned in to the news channel. Y’know, so that I do not get too left behind with what is happening around the world while I coop up at home in my pyjamas.

But there is something about the drone of the newscasters’ voices – makes my eyelids weigh heavier as time goes by. And did you watch the news lately? They are so depressing! They make me fall asleep on the couch, and then cry in my sleep.

So I figured that if I wanna maintain my mojo while I go about doing my stuffs, tv is out. And so radio becomes the natural alternative with its cheery pop music and chirpy enthusiastic deejays to get my day by. They read news by the way. In a less depressing manner.

It was all good until I pretty quickly realized it was all One Direction, Nicki Minaj, Justin Bieber, Selena Gomez, Taylor Swift, Miley Cyrus, Katy Perry and Lady Gaga. Hour after hour. On repeat.

It is worse now with the new function this radio station has – listeners get to vote which is the next song in the playlist. There was one afternoon when it was one Taylor Swift song after another. (0_o)

Talk about overdose! I could almost feel my brain frying as I jabbed at my phone to turn off the radio.

By the way, I am not hating on these pop idols now.. and in fact, I quite like “Wrecking Ball” and would find myself crooning along, especially if I am in the shower (Don’t judge me!)

Or instead of ranting about it here, I should maybe just switch to another radio station that gives love to a bigger group of music artistes and whose control over the playlist is not in the hands of some frothy raving teenage fans.

Ok, abrupt end of rant.

6 thoughts on “The Battle with Silence

  1. I sing “Wrecking Ball” too! My children look at me like I’m going mad, but it really gets stuck in the head! I find the best cure for the silent house is an open window, unless it is bitterly cold. I am lucky enough to have a garden full of birds and their song is a lot less repetetive than the radio πŸ™‚

    • Hahahaha!!! Miley Cyrus would be proud! You should sing it while dancing like a robot in response to your kids’ deadpanned stares!

      My house’s windows are always wide open in the day so that the sun could shine right in cos it makes me feel cheery instantly. But all that comes in (other than sunrays) are little flying bugs. No melodious tweets or chirps here.

      • It’s funny you should mention the bugs, actually, because just after I posted, a huge fly came in and buzzed around the kitchen for ages. I really hate the big noisy ones. The window is closed now, and I have decided to choose silence over buzzing for the rest of the afternoon. πŸ™‚

      • Whooops! Haha..

        There was one time when a humongous hornet flew in, and all I could do is to run, shriek and hide. And wait for it to go away. That wasted quite a fair bit of my time that day!

      • Running and hiding works though! I have been known to stand, frozen in fear at the sight of a giant creepy crawlie. Once we had a mouse and I actually stood on a chair – something I had thought only happened in cartoons πŸ™‚

Leave a comment